Hillsville is the county seat of Carroll County. Hillsville has planning commission, zoning board of appeals, subdivision ordinances, and a comprehensive plan.

Hillsville Town Council Meetings are held on the second and fourth Monday of each month in the Town Hall, located at 410 N. Main Street, at 7:00 PM. Agenda deadline is noon on Thursday prior to the meeting.

The Hillsville Town Code is available online or at Town Hall. You may view the online version of the code by clicking Hillsville Town Code. Please visit Town Hall at 410 N Main Street, Hillsville, VA 24343 or call 276-728-2128 for more information.

To file a FOIA request, please review our FOIA policy and contact one of our FOIA officers listed in the policy or in the chart below.

To view our GIS website, go to WEBGIS.

Date & Time

September 25, 2023

September 11 & 12, 2023

August 28, 2023

August 14, 2023

July 24, 2023

July 10, 2023

June 26, 2023

June 12, 2023

Greg Crowder


Phone: 704-604-2500

David Young

Councilman - Pipers Gap District

Phone : 276-733-8824

Ed Terry

Councilman - Pine Creek District

Phone: 276-728-0686

Barry Jessup

Councilman - Sulphur Springs District

Phone: 276-728-2128

Greg Yonce

Councilman - Laurel Fork District

Phone: 276-728-4062

LeAnna Surratt, MGT

Assistant Town Manager & Treasurer

Phone: 276-728-2128 ext. 308

Shannon Goad

Police Chief

Phone: 276-728-2251

Retta Jackson

Town Manager

Phone: 276-728-2128

Darrick Mayes

Utilities Director

Phone: 276-728-5533

Kelly Goad

Public Works Supervisor

Phone: 276-728-2128

Teresa Catron

Tourism Director/Farmers Market Manager

Phone: 276-728-2128

Local Government Contacts

Mayor Greg Crowder 704-604-2500
Councilman/Pipers Gap District David Young 276-733-8824
Councilman/Laurel Fork District Greg Yonce 276-728-4062
Councilman/Sulphur Springs District Barry Jessup 276-728-2128
Councilman/Pine Creek District Ed Terry 276-728-0686
Clerk of Council Vickie Yonce 276-728-2128 ext. 304
Town Attorney Cassell & Crewe 276-228-5566
Town Manager Retta N. Jackson 276-728-2128
Adm. Asst./Treasurer LeAnna Surratt 276-728-2128 ext. 308
Building Code Official/Engineer Steven Bowman 276-728-2128 ext. 307
Public Works Assistant Director Kelly Goad 276-733-4214
Water/Wastewater Director Darrick Mayes 276-728-5533
Police Chief Shannon Goad 276-728-2251
Committee Chairs
Planning Commission Ann Largin 276-728-9624
Board of Zoning Appeals
Hillsville Movie Nights 276-728-2128
FOIA Officers
LeAnna Surratt 276-728-2128
Retta Jackson 276-728-2128
Vickie Yonce 276-728-2128